World Golf Foundation Home
World Golf Hall of FameThe First TeeWE ARE GOLF





14 July 2014, Hoylake, England:  International Golf Federation officials confirmed today the qualification system that will be used for golf in the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. The announcement was made during a press conference at Royal Liverpool Golf Club, site of this week's Open Championship, and follows ratification of the system by the Executive Board of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

As outlined by IGF President Peter Dawson, Vice President Ty Votaw and Executive Director Antony Scanlon, the following will apply:

In both the women's and men's events a field of 60 players will compete in a 72-hole stroke play format competition for the Gold, Silver and Bronze medals. The 60 positions available in each event will be allocated through an Olympic Golf Ranking (OGR) list published on the IGF website, based on the player's respective official world golf ranking as follows:

  • Players within the top-15 on the respective women's and men'sofficial world golf rankings as of 11 July 2016 will be eligible, except that
    there will be no more than four players from any one country eligible withinthe top-15.
  • The balance of the field will be selected in order from 16th place onwards onthe respective women's and men's official world golf rankings as of as of 11July 2016, up to a maximum of 2 players per country for those countries notalready having more than 2 players within the top-15.

A provision has been included for the host country, Brazil, which will guarantee that at least one Brazilian female and male golfer will compete in the Games if not otherwise eligible, based on position within the respective official world golf rankings. Another provision has also been included that each of the five continents of the Olympic Movement (Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania) will be guaranteed at least one athlete in each of the men's and women's events, if not otherwise eligible, based on position within the respective official world golf rankings.  These provisions will not increase the field size beyond 60 athletes in each of the women's and men's competitions.

The two-year qualification period for the Olympic Golf Ranking will run from 14 July 2014 to 11 July 2016. Throughout that time, an OGR list will be published each week using the current women's and men's official world golf rankings at (showing the mock field for the event as if played that week using the rankings system). The IGF will publish the final OGR list as of 11 July 2016 following the conclusion of all eligible events.

"This is an important milestone on the road to golf's return to the Olympic Games in 2016," Dawson said. "We are pleased to confirm the eligibility criteria and to give the athletes, National Olympic Committees and National Federations clarity on the qualification process. The world's best players now know what they must achieve to be part of golf's historic return to the Games in Rio de Janeiro."

For more information visit

About The Olympic Golf Rankings (OGR):

The Olympic Golf Rankings List is the list of 60 players eligible for the women's and men's Olympic Golf Competitions as published at  Each OGR List is calculated using the approved eligibility criteria outlined above according to the rankings on the Men's Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR - and the Rolex Women's World Golf Rankings (  The 60 positions in each event as listed on the OGR are allocated according to athlete name, as per IOC rules.

The men's Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) recognises official prize money events on the following tours: PGA TOUR, European Tour, PGA Tour of Australasia, Japan Golf Tour, Southern Africa Sunshine Tour, Asian Tour, Tour, European Challenge Tour, Korean Golf Tour, PGA Tour Canada, PGA TOUR Latinoamérica and PGA TOUR China.

The Rolex Women's World Golf Rankings recognises official prize money events on the following Tours: Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA), Ladies European Tour (LET), Ladies Professional Golfers' Association of Japan (JLPGA), Korea Ladies Professional Golf Association (KLPGA), Australian Ladies Professional Golf (ALPG), Symetra Tour, China Ladies Professional Golf Association Tour (CLPGA) and the Ladies European Tour Access Series (LETAS). It also recognises the Ladies' Golf Union, which administers the Ricoh Women's British Open, and the United States Golf Association (USGA), which conducts the U.S. Women's Open.

For more information on the OGR contact the International Golf Federation.

About the International Golf Federation:     
The IGF was founded in 1958 to encourage the international development of the game and to employ golf as a vehicle to foster friendship and sportsmanship. Recognised by the International Olympic Committee as the official international federation for golf, the IGF is comprised of 123 Federations from 118 countries.

The IGF created the IGF Olympic Golf Committee to drive its effort for the sport's inclusion in the 2016 Games. Organisations represented on the committee are The R&A; European Tour; USGA; PGA of America; PGA TOUR; LPGA; the Masters Tournament; The Asian Tour; Australian Ladies Professional Golf Tour; Canadian Professional Golf Tour; Japan Golf Tour Organisation; The Ladies Professional Golfers Association of Japan; Korea Ladies Professional Golf Association; Korean Professional Golf Association; Ladies European Tour; Ladies Asian Golf Tour Ltd; PGA Tour of Australasia and The Sunshine Tour.

Further information:

Malcolm Booth 
International Golf Federation
Tel: +44 (0)7917  759042 

Chris Smith
 International Golf Federation
Tel: +1 904 273 3379